CD shop

*Click the CD pictures to hear a music sample

*Click buttons on right to add to shopping cart

*Add postage and packing, from $5 for the 1st 2 CDs...

Zither Highlights

Close to one hour of soothing and relaxing zither solos, including some classics (Bach, Pachelbel, Rodrigo), some contemporary (Lloyd -Webber, Neil Sedaka), well known traditionals (Danny Boy, Moscow Nights), and also some of Etienne's composition written for the chord -Zither. (Time: 57')

1. Jesu Joy of Man Desiring (J.S. Bach)
2. Autumn Melody (E. de Lavaulx)
3. Pachelbel's Canon (J. Pachelbel/Arrangt E. de Lavaulx)
4. Reverie (E. de Lavaulx)
5. Brahms Lullaby (J. Brahms)
6. Solitaire (N. Sedaka and P. Cody)
7. Serenade (E. de Lavaulx)
8. O'Danny Boy (Irish Traditional)
9. Sunglow (E. de Lavaulx)
10. Memory (A.Lloyd-Webber)
11. Liebliche Zither (E. de Lavaulx)
12. All I ask of You (A.Lloyd-Webber)
13. Fantasia para Gentilhombre -Excerpts (J.Rodrigo)
14. Moscow Nights (Russian Traditional)


Caravan of Love

Original zither and guitar music best suited for relaxation and meditation.
Inspired by a theme by mystic poet SANT DARSHAN SINGH.
Etienne creates a series of atmospheric scenes and takes us on a musical journey that symbolises the road of our life. On some of the tracks, Etienne's compositions are enhanced by natural sounds provided by Peter Mumme. This recording features some improvised tracks and passages. (Time: 59')

1.Caravan of Love
2. The Spinning Wheel
3. Manege (the merry-go-round)
4. Eternal Shore (improvisation in C)
5. Under a Morning Sky
6. Desert Crossing (improvisation in G)
7. Separation
8. Lamp on the Roadside
9. Moonlight Blues
10. As the Sun rises and sets


Timeless Melodies

A rich selection of favourite songs played on chord-zither, a most suitable instrument for relaxing and enjoyable music. Some have a classical guitar accompaniment also played by Etienne. (Time:59')

1. The Clock (E. de Lavaulx)
2. In the Depths of the Temple (G. Bizet)
3. The Lord of the Dance (Traditional)
4. Lara's Theme (Jarre)
5. Farewell to Tarwathie (Traditional)
6. The Scottish Soldier (Traditional)
7. The Skye Boat Song (Traditional)
8. Nearer my God to Thee (Traditional)
9. Finlandia (Sibelius)
10. Silver Threads among the Gold (Traditional)
11. Waltzing Matilda (Traditional)
12. The Rose (M. Cowan)
13. Let it be (Lennon /Mc Cartney)
14. The House of the Rising Sun (Traditional)
15. Blue Waters (E. de Lavaulx)
16. Both Sides now (J. Mitchell)
17. Bright Eyes (M. Batt)
18. Guantanamera (Traditional)
19. Greenfields (T. Gilkyson)
20. Amigos para sempre (A. Lloyd Webber)


Christmas Music for Zither and Guitar

A fresh approach to Christmas music. The bell-like quality of the zither is perfectly suited to the celebration of Christmas. You will hear twelve Carols including three from Etienne's native France, followed by "Scenes from the Countryside", a selection of Etienne's composition specially chosen to suit the Christmas atmosphere. (Time: 55')

1. Jingle Bells
2. Mary's Boy Child
3. God rest ye Merry Gentlemen
4. The First Noel
5. Rudolf the Red Nose Reindeer
6. The Legend of Saint Nicholas
7. O Christmas Tree
8. The Carol of the Drum
9. Il est ne le Divin Enfant
10. Noel Nouvelet
11. Angels we have heard on high
12. Silent Night

1. The Bells of Assisi
2. Suite Paysanne (Reverie-Dance- Promenade)
3. Fairy Tales
4. Suite Printanniere (Pour se rejouir-Souvenirs d'enfance)
5. Barcarolle
6. Call and Dance of the Shepherds
7. Happy Rains



Dedicated to Mum and Dad who ferried us across the seas to this great land of light and freedom"; so reads Etienne's dedication in this CD. It refers to "La Mer", the sea which separates Australia from his native France which his family crossed in 1969 when they immigrated. "La Mer" is also the title track, an adaptation for the zither of Charles Trenet's famous composition. (56')

1.La Mer (Charles Trenet)
2. Arc en Ciel (E. de Lavaulx)
3. El Condor Pasa (Traditional)
4. Elizabethan Serenade (R. Binge)
5. The Carnival is Over (T. Springfield)
6. Babbling Brook (E. de Lavaulx)
7. Morning has broken
( Traditional)/Blue Danube (J. Strauss)/Annie's Song (J. Denver)
8. When Johnny comes Marching Home (Traditional)
9. A Prayer for Oneness (E. de Lavaulx)
10. Pines and Willow Trees (E. de Lavaulx)
11. Fernando (S. & B. Anderson/B. Ulva)
12. Nobody knows the Trouble I've Seen (Traditional)
13. Dolanne's Melody (P. de Seneville)
14. Imagine (J. Lennon)
15. A Prayer for Oneness - reprise (E. de Lavaulx)


The Art of the Chord Zither

This is Etienne's latest CD. It begins with a song telling the history of the chord zither in Australia . The song is sung by Anne Vercoe , Etienne's sister in law and an accomplished singer in her own right. The rest of the CD is a recital consisting of a variety of chord zither solos; some classics (I vow to thee my country), some traditional ( Jerusalem ) and some of Etienne's compositions (Visions of Lights) which highlight the instruments potential.

1. The Old Zither
2. Pour un Sourire
3. I Vow to Thee My Country
4. As Above, so Below
5. Pie Jesu
6. Barcarolle
7. Jerusalem
8. Allez Mon Troupeau
9. The Streets of forbes
10. Eye Level Theme
11. Visions of Light
12. Interlude
13. Petite Fleur
14. Sakura / Kojo No Tsuki

Gentle Guitar

In the introduction of this solo guitar CD, Etienne writes: "Gentle Guitar is the fulfilment of a long cherished dream. Within it are contained some most precious moments…" All pieces are relaxing wether they be from the classical repertoire (Bach, Tarrega…), contemporary ("The Windmills of your Mind", "I don't know how to love Him",..), or Etienne's own. (Time: 71')

1. Spanish Romance (Anon.)
2. Allemande (Bach)
3. I don't know how to love Him (Lloyd Webber)
4. Staffa Island ( de Lavaulx)
5. Recuerdos de La Alhambra (Tarrega)
6. Wakare no Asa (Jurgens Arr. Sebaschian)
7. Moderato in D (Sor)
8. The Windmills of your Mind (Bergman/Legrand)\
9. Feste Larianne (Mozzani)
10. El Testament of Amelia (Trad, Arr, Llobet)
11. Song for a Child ( de Lavaulx)
12. Sarabande and Double (Bach)
13. Moderato in Bm (Sor)
14. Mystified (Almeida)
15. Varitions on Amazing Grace (Trad)
16. Orion ( de Lavaulx)
17. Adelita (Tarrega)
18. Lagrima (Tarrega)
19. Andante (Carcassi)
20. Summer Skies ( de Lavaulx)
21. Deep under the Sea ( de Lavaulx)

Time Traveller

A CD featuring the composing talents of Etienne de Lavaulx and Michael Johnson performed with instruments such as guitar, harp, congas, chord zither, cello and violin and composed in the European celtic fringe style. (approx 1hour)

1. Morocco (M.Johnson)
2. Seagulls (M.Johnson)
3. Sister Luz ( E. de Lavaulx)
4. Departure (M.Johnson)
5. Green Butterfly ( E. de Lavaulx)
6. Erin's Paradise (M.Johnson)
7. Arrival (M.Johnson)
8. Beachcomber (E. de Lavaulx)
9. Asteroid (E. de Lavaulx)
10. Homecoming (M.Johnson)